Buildings in Palterton

MOVE MOUSE OVER THUMBNAIL TO SEE ENLARGED IMAGE
Carr Farm c.1921 Carr Farm
   This image of Carr Farm, sometimes referred to as Carr House Farm is unique, in that it is believed
   to be the only one in existence.  The Turner family farmed here from 1915 to 1922 and can be seen on
   the image.  The house was originally a one up, one down house but had an extension built between May
   to July 1898 to a 2 bedroom at a cost of 145.  Our image shows another extension.


A sketch plan of Carr Farm Carr Farm, Carr Lane, Palterton
   This sketch of Carr Farm is unique in that it is a copy of an original drawn by Mr. Cornelius Turner jnr. for his memoirs.
   His family lived at this farm for seven years.  It provides previously unrecorded information about the farm.
   He makes mention of his children playing with German Prisoners of War, posted to this farm during W.W.1.
   He refers to this farm as Carr House Farm.  This farm was demolished c.1960.

Palterton Hall built c.1740. Palterton Hall
   This house was built circa 1740 on the site of a previous large manor house.  Originally known as Old Hall,
   from around the late C19 it became known as Palterton Hall Farm.  However the building was sold in the 1960's
   and a new farm house built next door on the farm 'croft' and is known as Hall Farm.  The old building shown
   here is now referred to as Palterton Hall.  On 10 September 1921, it was sold for 2,600 to Cornelius Hufton Turner."

The Mission Chapel The Mission Chapel

   This little chapel was built around 1875 and is part of St. Leonards parish church at Scarcliffe.  The land that
   this chapel is built on was sold by Earl Bathurst in 1868 to the Vicar of Scarcliffe for a schoolhouse.
   The war memorial erected in 1925 can be seen at the front of the building."

An old thatched roof cotttage on Low Road The Wilcockson Cottage
   This old cottage (now demolished) was located on the west side of Low Road about 30 metres from Rylah Hill and 30 metres west off Low Road.
   Mr Percy Wilcockson lived here.  A closer look at the image reveals rhubarb in the foreground, which he sold to other villagers and
   household utensils by the open window.  This old cottage was demolished around 1950's but was uninhabited and derelict in the late 1940's.
   Mr. Fred Riley now owns an area of land on the west side of Low Road including the plot on which this cottage was located.

Was this the original farm house? The Elms Farm - Stable / Cow shed.

   This image c.2000 taken in the cow shed at 'The Elms Farm' before the old farm was converted to dwellings.
   Clearly, this old stable / cow shed had itself been converted and may have been the former farm house.
   Note the old fireplace and where doors had been closed off.  Of course, this upper chamber could have
   been an old room, where the horseman / cowman lived.   This location has new been demolished.


MOVE MOUSE OVER THUMBNAIL TO SEE ENLARGED IMAGE

Buildings in Palterton


Email: ronstan@richardsbygonetimes.co.uk

Home Page: http://www.richardsbygonetimes.co.uk/

Created 2 December 2001
Last updated: 15 October 2010.